Joe Biden Abruptly Fires All 32 Members Of Homeland Security Advisory Council


Joe Biden’s administration just fired all 32 members of the Homeland Security Advisory Council, according to a letter DHS Secretary Alejandro Mayorkas sent to the members. The letter was sent Friday and informed members that Mayorjas has ended the “terms of current HSAC members effective March 26, 2021.”

He wrote, “I am honored to address you as the new Secretary and to express my profound gratitude for your commitment to the Department of Homeland Security. You have demonstrated your commitment in different ways, including through your service as a Member of the Homeland Security Advisory Council (HSAC). Many of you have served on the HSAC for years.

“I am considering how the HSAC can bring the greatest value to the Department and how the expertise, judgment, and counsel of its Members can be harnessed most effectively to advance the Department’s mission.

“I expect to work closely with the HSAC and to rely on its Members to help guide the Department through a period of change. In the service of an orderly transition to a new model for the HSAC, I have ended the term of current HSAC members effective March 26, 2021. I will reconstitute the HSAC in the next few weeks, once the new model has been developed.

“Chairman William Bratton and Vice Chair Karen Tandy will remain in their HSAC leadership positions. William Webster will remain the HSAC’s Chair Emeritus. I was privileged to work with Judge Webster throughout my prior service in the Department.

“I look forward to working with you in the future, whether as a member of a redesigned and reconstituted HSAC or in a different capacity, as we together seek to advance the Department’s noble mission. On behalf of the Department of Homeland Security, I thank you,” he wrote.

From Fox News: HSAC was set up for members, who are unpaid, to use their experience and expertise of Homeland Security issues like counterterrorism and immigration enforcement to offer guidance to the secretary.

Its current membership included Trump-era officials such as former Department of Homeland Security (DHS) Secretary Chad Wolf, former Deputy DHS Secretary Ken Cuccinelli and former Immigration and Customs Enforcement Director Thomas Homan — but include those appointed by secretaries by both Democratic and Republican administrations.

Mayorkas said that Chairman William Bratton, Vice Chair Karen Tandy and Chair Emeritus William Webster will remain in their positions to help the council move forward.

Wolf criticized the move in a tweet.

“While I respect the right for a DHS Secretary to alter the HSAC to address their needs, dismissing the entire council outright and stopping a lot of important work (that was underway) is not the right approach,” he wrote.

House Homeland Security Committee Ranking Member John Katko, R-N.Y., also criticized the move, saying it was a sign the administration “has no intention of upholding a bipartisan, unifying approach to securing our homeland.”

“It’s an absolute shame that Secretary Mayorkas has removed these well-respected homeland security leaders who have dedicated their careers to strengthening our homeland security posture,” he said in a statement. “I would urge the Secretary to take a thoughtful approach as he reconstitutes the HSAC and be mindful of the message he intends to send.”

Author : Gary Fenster

Source : Maga Conservatives : Joe Biden Abruptly Fires All 32 Members of Homeland Security Advisory Council